auxdisplay: img-ascii-lcd: Silence 2 uninitialized warnings
authorMiguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@gmail.com>
Mon, 19 Feb 2018 15:47:52 +0000 (16:47 +0100)
committerMiguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@gmail.com>
Tue, 13 Mar 2018 17:16:38 +0000 (18:16 +0100)
The warnings are:

  drivers/auxdisplay/img-ascii-lcd.c: warning: 'err' may be used
  uninitialized in this function [-Wuninitialized]

At lines 109 and 207. Reported by Geert using the build service
several times, e.g.:

  https://lkml.org/lkml/2018/2/19/303

They are two false positives, since num_chars > 0 in the three present
configurations (boston, malta, sead3). Initialize to 0 in order to
silence the warning.

Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
Signed-off-by: Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@gmail.com>
drivers/auxdisplay/img-ascii-lcd.c

index d8133024fd5d1e8ae1141e5ba302fbab666318df..834509506ef643399a18ec3cb841d8827c6c70c5 100644 (file)
@@ -97,7 +97,7 @@ static struct img_ascii_lcd_config boston_config = {
 static void malta_update(struct img_ascii_lcd_ctx *ctx)
 {
        unsigned int i;
 static void malta_update(struct img_ascii_lcd_ctx *ctx)
 {
        unsigned int i;
-       int err;
+       int err = 0;
 
        for (i = 0; i < ctx->cfg->num_chars; i++) {
                err = regmap_write(ctx->regmap,
 
        for (i = 0; i < ctx->cfg->num_chars; i++) {
                err = regmap_write(ctx->regmap,
@@ -180,7 +180,7 @@ static int sead3_wait_lcd_idle(struct img_ascii_lcd_ctx *ctx)
 static void sead3_update(struct img_ascii_lcd_ctx *ctx)
 {
        unsigned int i;
 static void sead3_update(struct img_ascii_lcd_ctx *ctx)
 {
        unsigned int i;
-       int err;
+       int err = 0;
 
        for (i = 0; i < ctx->cfg->num_chars; i++) {
                err = sead3_wait_lcd_idle(ctx);
 
        for (i = 0; i < ctx->cfg->num_chars; i++) {
                err = sead3_wait_lcd_idle(ctx);