HID: add backlight level quirk for Asus ROG laptops
authorMustafa Kuscu <mustafakuscu@gmail.com>
Sat, 28 Oct 2017 07:31:40 +0000 (10:31 +0300)
committerJiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Thu, 9 Nov 2017 11:48:31 +0000 (12:48 +0100)
On laptops such as Asus GL553VD, setting keyboard backlight levels
does not work. This change enables F3/F4 keys to set backlight levels
(from 0 to 3, total 4 levels) on such laptops.

It is intended only to the following device: 0x0b05 1854:

P: Vendor=0b05 ProdID=1854 Rev=03.02
S: Manufacturer=ITE Tech. Inc.
S: Product=ITE Device(8910)

[jkosina@suse.cz: massage changelog a little bit]
Signed-off-by: Mustafa C Kuscu <mustafakuscu@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
drivers/hid/hid-asus.c

index 27651f5..1bb7b63 100644 (file)
@@ -745,7 +745,7 @@ static const struct hid_device_id asus_devices[] = {
        { HID_I2C_DEVICE(USB_VENDOR_ID_ASUSTEK,
                USB_DEVICE_ID_ASUSTEK_I2C_TOUCHPAD), I2C_TOUCHPAD_QUIRKS },
        { HID_USB_DEVICE(USB_VENDOR_ID_ASUSTEK,
-               USB_DEVICE_ID_ASUSTEK_ROG_KEYBOARD1) },
+               USB_DEVICE_ID_ASUSTEK_ROG_KEYBOARD1), QUIRK_USE_KBD_BACKLIGHT },
        { HID_USB_DEVICE(USB_VENDOR_ID_ASUSTEK,
                USB_DEVICE_ID_ASUSTEK_ROG_KEYBOARD2), QUIRK_USE_KBD_BACKLIGHT },
        { HID_USB_DEVICE(USB_VENDOR_ID_ASUSTEK,