kobject: clean up the kobject add documentation a bit more
authorGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Thu, 2 May 2019 10:22:24 +0000 (12:22 +0200)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Fri, 3 May 2019 06:26:51 +0000 (08:26 +0200)
Commit 1fd7c3b438a2 ("kobject: Improve doc clarity kobject_init_and_add()")
tried to provide more clarity, but the reference to kobject_del() was
incorrect.  Fix that up by removing that line, and hopefully be more explicit
as to exactly what needs to happen here once you register a kobject with the
kobject core.

Acked-by: Tobin C. Harding <tobin@kernel.org>
Fixes: 1fd7c3b438a2 ("kobject: Improve doc clarity kobject_init_and_add()")
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
lib/kobject.c

index 3f4b7e9..f2ccdba 100644 (file)
@@ -416,8 +416,12 @@ static __printf(3, 0) int kobject_add_varg(struct kobject *kobj,
  *         to this function be directly freed with a call to kfree(),
  *         that can leak memory.
  *
- *         If this call returns successfully and you later need to unwind
- *         kobject_add() for the error path you should call kobject_del().
+ *         If this function returns success, kobject_put() must also be called
+ *         in order to properly clean up the memory associated with the object.
+ *
+ *         In short, once this function is called, kobject_put() MUST be called
+ *         when the use of the object is finished in order to properly free
+ *         everything.
  */
 int kobject_add(struct kobject *kobj, struct kobject *parent,
                const char *fmt, ...)