libata: zpodd: Fix small read overflow in zpodd_get_mech_type()
authorKees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Mon, 29 Jul 2019 21:47:22 +0000 (14:47 -0700)
committerJens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Mon, 29 Jul 2019 22:00:14 +0000 (16:00 -0600)
Jeffrin reported a KASAN issue:

  BUG: KASAN: global-out-of-bounds in ata_exec_internal_sg+0x50f/0xc70
  Read of size 16 at addr ffffffff91f41f80 by task scsi_eh_1/149
  ...
  The buggy address belongs to the variable:
    cdb.48319+0x0/0x40

Much like commit 18c9a99bce2a ("libata: zpodd: small read overflow in
eject_tray()"), this fixes a cdb[] buffer length, this time in
zpodd_get_mech_type():

We read from the cdb[] buffer in ata_exec_internal_sg(). It has to be
ATAPI_CDB_LEN (16) bytes long, but this buffer is only 12 bytes.

Reported-by: Jeffrin Jose T <jeffrin@rajagiritech.edu.in>
Fixes: afe759511808c ("libata: identify and init ZPODD devices")
Link: https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/201907181423.E808958@keescook/
Tested-by: Jeffrin Jose T <jeffrin@rajagiritech.edu.in>
Reviewed-by: Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Signed-off-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
drivers/ata/libata-zpodd.c

index 173e6f2..eefda51 100644 (file)
@@ -56,7 +56,7 @@ static enum odd_mech_type zpodd_get_mech_type(struct ata_device *dev)
        unsigned int ret;
        struct rm_feature_desc *desc;
        struct ata_taskfile tf;
-       static const char cdb[] = {  GPCMD_GET_CONFIGURATION,
+       static const char cdb[ATAPI_CDB_LEN] = {  GPCMD_GET_CONFIGURATION,
                        2,      /* only 1 feature descriptor requested */
                        0, 3,   /* 3, removable medium feature */
                        0, 0, 0,/* reserved */