ARM: 8153/1: Enable gcov support on the ARM architecture
authorVincent Sanders <vincent.sanders@collabora.co.uk>
Thu, 18 Sep 2014 19:39:15 +0000 (20:39 +0100)
committerRussell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
Fri, 26 Sep 2014 13:39:57 +0000 (14:39 +0100)
Enable gcov support for ARM based on original patches by David
Singleton and George G. Davis

Riku - updated to patch to current mainline kernel. The patch
has been submitted in 2010, 2012 - for symmetry, now in 2014 too.

https://lwn.net/Articles/390419/
http://marc.info/?l=linux-arm-kernel&m=133823081813044

v2: remove arch/arm/kernel from gcov disabled files

Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <a.ryabinin@samsung.com>
Cc: Naresh Kamboju <naresh.kamboju@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Signed-off-by: Riku Voipio <riku.voipio@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Vincent Sanders <vincent.sanders@collabora.co.uk>
Signed-off-by: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
arch/arm/boot/bootp/Makefile
arch/arm/boot/compressed/Makefile
kernel/gcov/Kconfig

index c394e30..5761f00 100644 (file)
@@ -5,6 +5,8 @@
 # architecture-specific flags and dependencies.
 #
 
 # architecture-specific flags and dependencies.
 #
 
+GCOV_PROFILE   := n
+
 LDFLAGS_bootp  :=-p --no-undefined -X \
                 --defsym initrd_phys=$(INITRD_PHYS) \
                 --defsym params_phys=$(PARAMS_PHYS) -T
 LDFLAGS_bootp  :=-p --no-undefined -X \
                 --defsym initrd_phys=$(INITRD_PHYS) \
                 --defsym params_phys=$(PARAMS_PHYS) -T
index 76a50ec..3ea230a 100644 (file)
@@ -37,6 +37,8 @@ ifeq ($(CONFIG_ARM_VIRT_EXT),y)
 OBJS           += hyp-stub.o
 endif
 
 OBJS           += hyp-stub.o
 endif
 
+GCOV_PROFILE           := n
+
 #
 # Architecture dependencies
 #
 #
 # Architecture dependencies
 #
index d04ce8a..cf66c5c 100644 (file)
@@ -35,7 +35,7 @@ config GCOV_KERNEL
 config GCOV_PROFILE_ALL
        bool "Profile entire Kernel"
        depends on GCOV_KERNEL
 config GCOV_PROFILE_ALL
        bool "Profile entire Kernel"
        depends on GCOV_KERNEL
-       depends on SUPERH || S390 || X86 || PPC || MICROBLAZE
+       depends on SUPERH || S390 || X86 || PPC || MICROBLAZE || ARM
        default n
        ---help---
        This options activates profiling for the entire kernel.
        default n
        ---help---
        This options activates profiling for the entire kernel.