net: bridge: Fix locking in br_fdb_find_port()
authorPetr Machata <petrm@mellanox.com>
Fri, 8 Jun 2018 13:11:47 +0000 (15:11 +0200)
committerDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Fri, 8 Jun 2018 23:58:31 +0000 (19:58 -0400)
Callers of br_fdb_find() need to hold the hash lock, which
br_fdb_find_port() doesn't do. However, since br_fdb_find_port() is not
doing any actual FDB manipulation, the hash lock is not really needed at
all. So convert to br_fdb_find_rcu(), surrounded by rcu_read_lock() /
_unlock() pair.

The device pointer copied from inside the FDB entry is then kept alive
by the RTNL lock, which br_fdb_find_port() asserts.

Fixes: 4d4fd36126d6 ("net: bridge: Publish bridge accessor functions")
Signed-off-by: Petr Machata <petrm@mellanox.com>
Acked-by: Nikolay Aleksandrov <nikolay@cumulusnetworks.com>
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
net/bridge/br_fdb.c

index b19e3104afd6bf512d9b98f8350cc0f37d9880ea..502f663495308cde5b7d2a8bf841f6e0e7045130 100644 (file)
@@ -135,9 +135,11 @@ struct net_device *br_fdb_find_port(const struct net_device *br_dev,
                return NULL;
 
        br = netdev_priv(br_dev);
                return NULL;
 
        br = netdev_priv(br_dev);
-       f = br_fdb_find(br, addr, vid);
+       rcu_read_lock();
+       f = br_fdb_find_rcu(br, addr, vid);
        if (f && f->dst)
                dev = f->dst->dev;
        if (f && f->dst)
                dev = f->dst->dev;
+       rcu_read_unlock();
 
        return dev;
 }
 
        return dev;
 }