kvm: properly check debugfs dentry before using it
authorGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Thu, 28 Feb 2019 15:34:37 +0000 (16:34 +0100)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Thu, 28 Feb 2019 16:57:32 +0000 (08:57 -0800)
debugfs can now report an error code if something went wrong instead of
just NULL.  So if the return value is to be used as a "real" dentry, it
needs to be checked if it is an error before dereferencing it.

This is now happening because of ff9fb72bc077 ("debugfs: return error
values, not NULL").  syzbot has found a way to trigger multiple debugfs
files attempting to be created, which fails, and then the error code
gets passed to dentry_path_raw() which obviously does not like it.

Reported-by: Eric Biggers <ebiggers@kernel.org>
Reported-and-tested-by: syzbot+7857962b4d45e602b8ad@syzkaller.appspotmail.com
Cc: "Radim Krčmář" <rkrcmar@redhat.com>
Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org
Acked-by: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
virt/kvm/kvm_main.c

index 5858452..076bc38 100644 (file)
@@ -4044,7 +4044,7 @@ static void kvm_uevent_notify_change(unsigned int type, struct kvm *kvm)
        }
        add_uevent_var(env, "PID=%d", kvm->userspace_pid);
 
-       if (kvm->debugfs_dentry) {
+       if (!IS_ERR_OR_NULL(kvm->debugfs_dentry)) {
                char *tmp, *p = kmalloc(PATH_MAX, GFP_KERNEL);
 
                if (p) {