locking/lockdep: Fix debug_locks off performance problem
authorWaiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
Fri, 19 Oct 2018 01:45:17 +0000 (21:45 -0400)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Fri, 19 Oct 2018 05:53:17 +0000 (07:53 +0200)
It was found that when debug_locks was turned off because of a problem
found by the lockdep code, the system performance could drop quite
significantly when the lock_stat code was also configured into the
kernel. For instance, parallel kernel build time on a 4-socket x86-64
server nearly doubled.

Further analysis into the cause of the slowdown traced back to the
frequent call to debug_locks_off() from the __lock_acquired() function
probably due to some inconsistent lockdep states with debug_locks
off. The debug_locks_off() function did an unconditional atomic xchg
to write a 0 value into debug_locks which had already been set to 0.
This led to severe cacheline contention in the cacheline that held
debug_locks.  As debug_locks is being referenced in quite a few different
places in the kernel, this greatly slow down the system performance.

To prevent that trashing of debug_locks cacheline, lock_acquired()
and lock_contended() now checks the state of debug_locks before
proceeding. The debug_locks_off() function is also modified to check
debug_locks before calling __debug_locks_off().

Signed-off-by: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1539913518-15598-1-git-send-email-longman@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>

No differences found