hfsplus: prevent crash on exit from failed search
authorErnesto A. Fernandez <ernesto.mnd.fernandez@gmail.com>
Fri, 24 Aug 2018 00:00:28 +0000 (17:00 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 24 Aug 2018 01:48:42 +0000 (18:48 -0700)
hfs_find_exit() expects fd->bnode to be NULL after a search has failed.
hfs_brec_insert() may instead set it to an error-valued pointer.  Fix
this to prevent a crash.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/803590a35221fbf411b2c141419aea3233a6e990.1530294813.git.ernesto.mnd.fernandez@gmail.com
Signed-off-by: Ernesto A. Fernandez <ernesto.mnd.fernandez@gmail.com>
Reported-by: Anatoly Trosinenko <anatoly.trosinenko@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Vyacheslav Dubeyko <slava@dubeyko.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/hfsplus/brec.c

index 808f4d8c859c997f72753bf064b5308f0f10063e..ed8eacb34452f02107c253c3d57a9c89532daa93 100644 (file)
@@ -73,9 +73,10 @@ int hfs_brec_insert(struct hfs_find_data *fd, void *entry, int entry_len)
        if (!fd->bnode) {
                if (!tree->root)
                        hfs_btree_inc_height(tree);
        if (!fd->bnode) {
                if (!tree->root)
                        hfs_btree_inc_height(tree);
-               fd->bnode = hfs_bnode_find(tree, tree->leaf_head);
-               if (IS_ERR(fd->bnode))
-                       return PTR_ERR(fd->bnode);
+               node = hfs_bnode_find(tree, tree->leaf_head);
+               if (IS_ERR(node))
+                       return PTR_ERR(node);
+               fd->bnode = node;
                fd->record = -1;
        }
        new_node = NULL;
                fd->record = -1;
        }
        new_node = NULL;