rpc: properly check debugfs dentry before using it
authorGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Tue, 12 Feb 2019 18:27:34 +0000 (19:27 +0100)
committerAnna Schumaker <Anna.Schumaker@Netapp.com>
Tue, 12 Feb 2019 20:51:39 +0000 (15:51 -0500)
debugfs can now report an error code if something went wrong instead of
just NULL.  So if the return value is to be used as a "real" dentry, it
needs to be checked if it is an error before dereferencing it.

This is now happening because of ff9fb72bc077 ("debugfs: return error
values, not NULL"), but why debugfs files are not being created properly
is an older issue, probably one that has always been there and should
probably be looked at...

Cc: "J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@fieldses.org>
Cc: Jeff Layton <jlayton@kernel.org>
Cc: Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com>
Cc: Anna Schumaker <anna.schumaker@netapp.com>
Cc: linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org
Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org
Reported-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Tested-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Anna Schumaker <Anna.Schumaker@Netapp.com>
net/sunrpc/debugfs.c

index 45a0333..19bb356 100644 (file)
@@ -146,7 +146,7 @@ rpc_clnt_debugfs_register(struct rpc_clnt *clnt)
        rcu_read_lock();
        xprt = rcu_dereference(clnt->cl_xprt);
        /* no "debugfs" dentry? Don't bother with the symlink. */
-       if (!xprt->debugfs) {
+       if (IS_ERR_OR_NULL(xprt->debugfs)) {
                rcu_read_unlock();
                return;
        }