scsi: libsas: align sata_device's rps_resp on a cacheline
authorHuacai Chen <chenhc@lemote.com>
Tue, 21 Nov 2017 13:23:39 +0000 (14:23 +0100)
committerMartin K. Petersen <martin.petersen@oracle.com>
Wed, 22 Nov 2017 04:06:32 +0000 (23:06 -0500)
The rps_resp buffer in ata_device is a DMA target, but it isn't
explicitly cacheline aligned. Due to this, adjacent fields can be
overwritten with stale data from memory on non-coherent architectures.
As a result, the kernel is sometimes unable to communicate with an SATA
device behind a SAS expander.

Fix this by ensuring that the rps_resp buffer is cacheline aligned.

This issue is similar to that fixed by Commit 84bda12af31f93 ("libata:
align ap->sector_buf") and Commit 4ee34ea3a12396f35b26 ("libata: Align
ata_device's id on a cacheline").

Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Huacai Chen <chenhc@lemote.com>
Signed-off-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Signed-off-by: Martin K. Petersen <martin.petersen@oracle.com>
include/scsi/libsas.h

index 0f9cbf96c093d86ae926ae5380f82eb454fecd02..6df6fe0c21980b4eb686bc20ff10f0c2bf28280b 100644 (file)
@@ -159,11 +159,11 @@ struct expander_device {
 
 struct sata_device {
        unsigned int class;
 
 struct sata_device {
        unsigned int class;
-       struct smp_resp        rps_resp; /* report_phy_sata_resp */
        u8     port_no;        /* port number, if this is a PM (Port) */
 
        struct ata_port *ap;
        struct ata_host ata_host;
        u8     port_no;        /* port number, if this is a PM (Port) */
 
        struct ata_port *ap;
        struct ata_host ata_host;
+       struct smp_resp rps_resp ____cacheline_aligned; /* report_phy_sata_resp */
        u8     fis[ATA_RESP_FIS_SIZE];
 };
 
        u8     fis[ATA_RESP_FIS_SIZE];
 };