ARM: orion: avoid VLA in orion_mpp_conf
authorArnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Fri, 5 Oct 2018 16:15:49 +0000 (18:15 +0200)
committerOlof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>
Sat, 3 Nov 2018 05:31:24 +0000 (22:31 -0700)
Testing randconfig builds found an instance of a VLA that was
missed when determining that we have removed them all:

arch/arm/plat-orion/mpp.c: In function 'orion_mpp_conf':
arch/arm/plat-orion/mpp.c:31:2: error: ISO C90 forbids variable length array 'mpp_ctrl' [-Werror=vla]

This one is fairly straightforward: we know what all three
callers are, and the maximum length is not very long.

Fixes: 68664695ae57 ("Makefile: Globally enable VLA warning")
Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Reviewed-by: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>
Reviewed-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Signed-off-by: Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>
arch/arm/plat-orion/mpp.c

index 5b4ff9373c894515ee211a3ce47f745e021a7ed6..8a6880d528b6f1175bd275b7ed0946b6029718bd 100644 (file)
@@ -28,10 +28,15 @@ void __init orion_mpp_conf(unsigned int *mpp_list, unsigned int variant_mask,
                           unsigned int mpp_max, void __iomem *dev_bus)
 {
        unsigned int mpp_nr_regs = (1 + mpp_max/8);
                           unsigned int mpp_max, void __iomem *dev_bus)
 {
        unsigned int mpp_nr_regs = (1 + mpp_max/8);
-       u32 mpp_ctrl[mpp_nr_regs];
+       u32 mpp_ctrl[8];
        int i;
 
        printk(KERN_DEBUG "initial MPP regs:");
        int i;
 
        printk(KERN_DEBUG "initial MPP regs:");
+       if (mpp_nr_regs > ARRAY_SIZE(mpp_ctrl)) {
+               printk(KERN_ERR "orion_mpp_conf: invalid mpp_max\n");
+               return;
+       }
+
        for (i = 0; i < mpp_nr_regs; i++) {
                mpp_ctrl[i] = readl(mpp_ctrl_addr(i, dev_bus));
                printk(" %08x", mpp_ctrl[i]);
        for (i = 0; i < mpp_nr_regs; i++) {
                mpp_ctrl[i] = readl(mpp_ctrl_addr(i, dev_bus));
                printk(" %08x", mpp_ctrl[i]);