raid6/ppc: Fix build for clang
authorJoel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>
Fri, 2 Nov 2018 00:44:55 +0000 (11:14 +1030)
committerMichael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Thu, 20 Dec 2018 09:53:11 +0000 (20:53 +1100)
We cannot build these files with clang as it does not allow altivec
instructions in assembly when -msoft-float is passed.

Jinsong Ji <jji@us.ibm.com> wrote:
> We currently disable Altivec/VSX support when enabling soft-float.  So
> any usage of vector builtins will break.
>
> Enable Altivec/VSX with soft-float may need quite some clean up work, so
> I guess this is currently a limitation.
>
> Removing -msoft-float will make it work (and we are lucky that no
> floating point instructions will be generated as well).

This is a workaround until the issue is resolved in clang.

Link: https://bugs.llvm.org/show_bug.cgi?id=31177
Link: https://github.com/ClangBuiltLinux/linux/issues/239
Signed-off-by: Joel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>
Reviewed-by: Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
lib/raid6/Makefile

index 2f8b61d..7ed43ea 100644 (file)
@@ -18,6 +18,21 @@ quiet_cmd_unroll = UNROLL  $@
 
 ifeq ($(CONFIG_ALTIVEC),y)
 altivec_flags := -maltivec $(call cc-option,-mabi=altivec)
+
+ifdef CONFIG_CC_IS_CLANG
+# clang ppc port does not yet support -maltivec when -msoft-float is
+# enabled. A future release of clang will resolve this
+# https://bugs.llvm.org/show_bug.cgi?id=31177
+CFLAGS_REMOVE_altivec1.o  += -msoft-float
+CFLAGS_REMOVE_altivec2.o  += -msoft-float
+CFLAGS_REMOVE_altivec4.o  += -msoft-float
+CFLAGS_REMOVE_altivec8.o  += -msoft-float
+CFLAGS_REMOVE_altivec8.o  += -msoft-float
+CFLAGS_REMOVE_vpermxor1.o += -msoft-float
+CFLAGS_REMOVE_vpermxor2.o += -msoft-float
+CFLAGS_REMOVE_vpermxor4.o += -msoft-float
+CFLAGS_REMOVE_vpermxor8.o += -msoft-float
+endif
 endif
 
 # The GCC option -ffreestanding is required in order to compile code containing