PCI/ASPM: Declare threshold_ns as u32, not u64
authorGustavo A. R. Silva <garsilva@embeddedor.com>
Tue, 27 Feb 2018 23:19:52 +0000 (17:19 -0600)
committerBjorn Helgaas <helgaas@kernel.org>
Wed, 28 Feb 2018 20:39:53 +0000 (14:39 -0600)
aspm_calc_l1ss_info() computes l1_2_threshold in microseconds as:

  l1_2_threshold = 2 + 4 + t_common_mode + t_power_on;

where t_common_mode is at most 255us:

  PCI_L1SS_CAP_CM_RESTORE_TIME  0x0000ff00   <-- 8 bits; <256us

and t_power_on is at most 31 * 100us = 3100us:

  PCI_L1SS_CAP_P_PWR_ON_VALUE   0x00f80000   <-- 5 bits; <32
  PCI_L1SS_CAP_P_PWR_ON_SCALE   0x00030000   <-- *2us, *10us, or *100us

So l1_2_threshold is at most 2 + 4 + 255 + 3100 = 3361, which means
threshold_ns is at most 3361 * 1000 = 3361000, which easily fits in a
u32.

Declare threshold_ns as u32, not u64.  This fixes a Coverity warning.

Addresses-Coverity-ID: 1462501
Signed-off-by: Gustavo A. R. Silva <garsilva@embeddedor.com>
[bhelgaas: changelog]
Signed-off-by: Bjorn Helgaas <helgaas@kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
drivers/pci/pcie/aspm.c

index 57feef2ecfe78bd5b9f8f2109aecc1eace7e5d68..8633fc4e1c11b970ecc1364b9859a7aa759b497c 100644 (file)
@@ -322,7 +322,7 @@ static u32 calc_l1ss_pwron(struct pci_dev *pdev, u32 scale, u32 val)
 
 static void encode_l12_threshold(u32 threshold_us, u32 *scale, u32 *value)
 {
 
 static void encode_l12_threshold(u32 threshold_us, u32 *scale, u32 *value)
 {
-       u64 threshold_ns = threshold_us * 1000;
+       u32 threshold_ns = threshold_us * 1000;
 
        /* See PCIe r3.1, sec 7.33.3 and sec 6.18 */
        if (threshold_ns < 32) {
 
        /* See PCIe r3.1, sec 7.33.3 and sec 6.18 */
        if (threshold_ns < 32) {