Implement support for Path MTU Discovery
authorStefan Berghofer <stefan.berghofer@secunet.com>
Fri, 5 Jun 2015 13:54:32 +0000 (15:54 +0200)
committerReto Buerki <reet@codelabs.ch>
Thu, 11 Jun 2015 07:32:05 +0000 (09:32 +0200)
commitb08c76d080a0bcc60f6a68b3cf93887e764c9865
tree0057b565f54d1745b69551576960ad33623aa5fc
parent1f7f418231bb91aad662497f71c90cfc1d064657
Implement support for Path MTU Discovery

The module's pmtu parameter allows the specification of input channels
from which discovered Path MTU values are read. If an outgoing packet
exceeds the associated PMTU value, an ICMP Fragmentation Needed (Type 3,
Code 4) message containing the current PMTU value is sent back to update
the path. In case of IPv6, an ICMPv6 Packet Too Big (Type 2) message is
used.

In order for this to work, the outgoing packets must be marked by
Netfilter's nfmark functionality. The configured mark specifies the
index into the PMTU array.
internal.h
net.c
writer.c