Make processor speed detection more reliable
authorReto Buerki <reet@codelabs.ch>
Tue, 12 Sep 2017 19:38:04 +0000 (21:38 +0200)
committerReto Buerki <reet@codelabs.ch>
Thu, 14 Sep 2017 07:59:51 +0000 (09:59 +0200)
Summary:
Closes T453. The refined TSC clocksource string is not always present in
dmesg (at least on newer kernels).

Therefore, also look for the 'tsc: Detected <speed> processor' string if
the refined TSC clocksource regex search fails.

Also drop test_genDmesg test because running dmesg requires root on
Debian stretch now.

Test Plan:
Verified that processor speed extraction works on a 4.10.0 kernel
running on NUC 6CAYH where the refined TSC clocksource message is not
present in dmesg.

Reviewers: ken

Reviewed By: ken

Maniphest Tasks: T453

Differential Revision: https://dev.codelabs.ch/D640


Trivial merge